To provide management of specific areas, we have created six committees, each of which includes equal representation from Pitt and CMU. The members serve two- or three-year terms, rotating off in a staggered fashion to preserve continuity.

Committee Role Members
Curriculum Ensures that the curriculum of the training program remains current in terms of advances in modern computational biology.  The role of this committee is particularly important for our program, since computational biology is a rapidly evolving field. The members consist of representatives for each of the four specialization areas in addition to two student members. Approves courses for inclusion as specialization electives or life science electives. Stefan Andjelkovic, Student
David Koes, Pitt chair
Cathy Su, Student
Robert Murphy, CMU
Russell Schwartz, CMU chair
Jianhua Xing, Pitt
Admissions Handles all matters related to the recruitment of new high-quality students, including the evaluation of applicants. Prompt and careful evaluation of the candidates is their priority, along with the identification of candidates to be interviewed, shortly after the application deadline.
Jishnu Das, Pitt Chair
Monica Dayao, CMU
Mark Ebeid, Pitt
Minxue Jia, Pitt
Carl Kingsford, CMU Chair
Maria Korshunova, CMU
Caroline Larkin, Pitt
Silvia Liu, Pitt
Andrew McNutt, Pitt
Hosein Mohimani, CMU
Hatice Osmanbeyoglu, Pitt
BaDoi Phan, CMU
Elysia Saputra, Pitt
Shikhar Uttam, Pitt
Min Xu, CMU
Ruochi Zhang, CMU
Executive Functions as a “Board of Directors” for the CPCB to provide oversight and advice on program development and management.  This committee has 8 members, including the program directors. Ivet Bahar, Pitt
Ziv Bar-Joseph, CMU, Director
Carlos Camacho, Pitt
Robin Lee, Pitt, Associate Director
James Faeder, Pitt, Director
Carl Kingsford, CMU, Associate Director
Robert F. Murphy, CMU
Russell Schwartz, CMU
Seminar Series Nate Lord, Pitt
Oana Carja, CMU
Steven Smeal, PITT
Professional Development Committee (Journal Club/Presentation/Meta School)
Joseph Ayoob, Pitt
Hosein Mohimani, CMU
Graduate Student Assembly (GSA) CPCBGSA provides a link between its members and the faculty and administration of CPCB, represents and promotes the views of its members, and organizes social, academic, professional and other programs of interest to its members, also coordinating with the wider graduate student communities at the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University. Ombudsperson - Neha Cheemalavagu
President - Samantha Furman
VP - Mark Ebeid
Student seminar coordinator - Dora Li
Pitt GSA rep - Hannah Schriever
CMU GSA rep - BaDoi Phan
Treasurer - Stefan Andjelkovic
Social Media Manager - Marissa Di
Senators - Roshni Bhatt, Gaby Gerlach, Andrew McNutt, Neha Cheemalavagu
Diversity & Inclusion Committee The goal of the Diversity & Inclusion Committee is to provide leadership and resources necessary to ensure that all members of the program are valued and respected within CPCB  through collaboration, policies, and procedures. Gaby Gerlach, Chair
Abhi Adduri, Chair
Hannah Schriever, Program Liaison
Roshni Bhatt
Neha Cheemalavagu
Seyoung Kim
Caroline Larkin
Tim Lezon
Bob Murphy
Jianhua Xing
Steering Committee The Steering Committee is comprised of the Directors and Associate Directors at both Universities, both program managers, and two committee appointed senior-level students (students are only eligible if they’ve successfully completed all program course requirements and proposed their thesis).  The Steering Committee makes decisions specific to the CPCB Ph.D. program that does not require the attention of all the faculty and students.
Ziv Bar-Joseph, Director (CMU)
Jim Faeder, Director (PITT)
Carl Kingsford, Associate Director (CMU)
Robin Lee, Associate Director (PITT)
Kelly Gentille, Program Manager (PITT)
Nicole Stenger, Program Manager (CMU)
Amir Alavi, Ph.D. Student (CMU)
Samantha Furman, Ph.D. Student (PITT)

In addition to these specialized committees, all training faculty belong to and participate in, the CPCB Program Faculty meetings held twice a year, at the end of the Fall and Spring semesters, and in an annual Program Retreat held off-site shortly after the arrival of each new class. The purpose of the Faculty meetings is the discussion of the programmatic issues brought about by the individual committees or other institutional developments, the evaluation of all students (discussed one by one), and the approval of the student evaluation letters that are to be sent to each student at the end of each semester.