Carnegie Mellon University

To provide management of specific areas, we have created six committees, each of which includes equal representation from Pitt and CMU. The members serve two- or three-year terms, rotating off in a staggered fashion to preserve continuity.

Committee Role Members
Curriculum Ensures that the curriculum of the training program remains current in terms of advances in modern computational biology.  The role of this committee is particularly important for our program, since computational biology is a rapidly evolving field.  Approves courses for inclusion as specialization electives or life science electives.
  • David Koes, Chair, Pitt
  • Russell Schwartz, Chair, CMU
  • Roshni Bhatt, Pitt
  • Dannie Durand, CMU
  • Yihang Shen, CMU
  • Anne-Ruxandra Carvunis, Pitt
Admissions Handles all matters related to the recruitment of new high-quality students, including the evaluation of applicants. Prompt and careful evaluation of the candidates is their priority, along with the identification of candidates to be interviewed, shortly after the application deadline.
  • Jose Lugo-Martinez, Chair, CMU
  • Shikhar Uttam, Chair, Pitt
  • Yu-Chih Chen, Pitt
  • Maria Chikina, Pitt
  • Xiaoyue Cui, CMU
  • Anush Devadhasan, CMU
  • Ian Dunn, Pitt
  • Caleb Ellington, CMU
  • Mert Gur, Pitt
  • Sophia Hu, Pitt
  • Keisuke Ishihara, Pitt
  • Swapnil Keshari, Pitt
  • Caroline Larkin, Pitt
  • John Barton, Pitt
  • Hosein Mohimani, CMU
  • Donghui Yan, CMU
  • Yun William Yu, CMU
  • Martin Zhang, CMU
Executive Functions as a “Board of Directors” for the CPCB to provide oversight and advice on program development and management.  This committee has 8 members, including the program directors.
  • James Faeder, Co-Director, Pitt
  • Carl Kingsford, Co-Director, CMU
  • David Koes, Associate Director, Pitt
  • Andreas Pfenning, Associate Director, CMU
  • Fritz Roth, Chair, Pitt
  • Russell Schwartz, Department Head, CMU
Seminar Series
  • Oana Carja, CMU
  • Nate Lord, Pitt
  • Alex Hummels, Student Representative
Graduate Student Assembly (GSA) CPCBGSA provides a link between its members and the faculty and administration of CPCB, represents and promotes the views of its members, and organizes social, academic, professional and other programs of interest to its members, also coordinating with the wider graduate student communities at the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University.
  • President: Caleb Ellington
  • Vice President: Thomas Rachman
  • Student Seminar Coordinator: Alistair Turcan
  • Pitt GSA rep: Alisa Omelchenko
  • CMU GSA rep: Chaitanya Srinivasan
  • Treasurer: Alex Hummels
  • Social Media Manager: Yajushi Khurana
  • Ombudsperson: Yajushi Khurana
  • Outreach/Volunteer Coordinator: Steph Masotti
  • Senators: Rishal Aggarwal, Akanksha Sachan, Filipp Nikitin, Annie Kim 
Professional Development  (Journal Club/Presentation/Meta School)
  • Joseph Ayoob, Pitt
  • Josh Kangas, CMU
Steering  The Steering Committee is comprised of the Directors and Associate Directors at both Universities, both program managers, and two committee appointed senior-level students (students are only eligible if they’ve successfully completed all program course requirements and proposed their thesis).  The Steering Committee makes decisions specific to the CPCB Ph.D. program that does not require the attention of all the faculty and students
  • Jim Faeder, Co-Director, Pitt
  • Carl Kingsford, Co-Director, CMU
  • David Koes, Associate Director, Pitt
  • Andreas Pfenning, Associate Director, CMU
  • Joseph Ayoob, Pitt
  • Caleb Ellington, CMU
  • Kelly Gentille, Pitt
  • Gaby Gerlach, Pitt
  • Josh Kangas, CMU
  • Nicole Stenger, CMU
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) The goal of the Diversity & Inclusion Committee is to provide leadership and resources necessary to ensure that all members of the program are valued and respected within CPCB  through collaboration, policies, and procedures.
  • Maria Chikina, Chair, Pitt
  • Andreas Pfenning, Chair, CMU
  • Marisa Abundis, Pitt
  • Luis Escobar-Robledo, Pitt
  • Jim Faeder, Pitt
  • Jiwon Lee, Pitt
  • Aaron Rosen, Pitt
  • Russell Schwartz, CMU
  • Mostofa Uddin, CMU
  • Hanxi Xiao, Pitt

In addition to these specialized committees, all training faculty belong to, and participate in, the CPCB Program Faculty meetings held twice a year, at the end of the Fall and Spring semesters, and in an annual Program Retreat held off-site shortly after the arrival of each new class. The purpose of the Faculty meetings is the discussion of the programmatic issues brought about by the individual committees or other institutional developments, the evaluation of all students (discussed one by one), and the approval of the student evaluation letters that are to be sent to each student at the end of each semester.