Carnegie Mellon University

To provide management of specific areas, we have created six committees, each of which includes equal representation from Pitt and CMU. The members serve two- or three-year terms, rotating off in a staggered fashion to preserve continuity.

Committee Role Members
Curriculum Ensures that the curriculum of the training program remains current in terms of advances in modern computational biology.  The role of this committee is particularly important for our program, since computational biology is a rapidly evolving field.  Approves courses for inclusion as specialization electives or life science electives.
  • Alex Hummels, Pitt
  • David Koes, Pitt chair
  • Y.P. Kuo, CMU
  • Russell Schwartz, CMU chair
  • Jianhua Xing, Pitt
Admissions Handles all matters related to the recruitment of new high-quality students, including the evaluation of applicants. Prompt and careful evaluation of the candidates is their priority, along with the identification of candidates to be interviewed, shortly after the application deadline.
  • Oana Carja, Chair, CMU
  • Haoran Chen, CMU
  • Maria Chikina, Pitt
  • Shu-Ting Cho, Pitt
  • Jishnu Das, Chair, Pitt
  • Monica Dayao, CMU
  • Mark Ebeid, Pitt
  • Caleb Ellington, CMU
  • Olexandr Isayev, CMU
  • Caroline Larkin, Pitt
  • Jose Lugo-Martinez, CMU
  • Drew McNutt, Pitt
  • April Rich, Pitt
  • Shikhar Uttam, Pitt
  • Tianming Zhou, CMU
Executive Functions as a “Board of Directors” for the CPCB to provide oversight and advice on program development and management.  This committee has 8 members, including the program directors.
  • Carl Kingsford, CMU, Director
  • David Koes, Pitt, Associate Director
  • James Faeder, Pitt, Director
  • Russell Schwartz, CMU
Seminar Series
  • Nate Lord, PITT
  • Oana Carja, CMU
  • Roshni Bhatt, Student Representative
Graduate Student Assembly (GSA) CPCBGSA provides a link between its members and the faculty and administration of CPCB, represents and promotes the views of its members, and organizes social, academic, professional and other programs of interest to its members, also coordinating with the wider graduate student communities at the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University.
  • Ombudsperson: Sophia Hu
  • President: Monica Dayao
  • VP: Gaby Gerlach
  • Student Seminar Coordinator: Ian Dunn
  • Pitt GSA rep: Swapnil Keshari
  • CMU GSA rep: Caleb Ellington
  • Treasurer: Drew McNutt
  • Social Media Manager: Yajushi Khurana
  • Outreach/Volunteer Coordinator: Steven Smeal
  • Senators: Shahul Alam, Alex Hummels, Thomas Rachman, Hanxi Xiao 
Professional Development  (Journal Club/Presentation/Meta School)
  • Joseph Ayoob, PITT
  • Josh Kangas, CMU
Steering  The Steering Committee is comprised of the Directors and Associate Directors at both Universities, both program managers, and two committee appointed senior-level students (students are only eligible if they’ve successfully completed all program course requirements and proposed their thesis).  The Steering Committee makes decisions specific to the CPCB Ph.D. program that does not require the attention of all the faculty and students
  • Jim Faeder, Director (PITT)
  • Carl Kingsford, Director (CMU)
  • David Koes, Associate Director (PITT)
  • Kelly Gentille, Program Manager (PITT)
  • Nicole Stenger, Program Manager (CMU)
  • Gaby Gerlach, Ph.D. Student (PITT)
  • BaDoi Phan, Ph.D. Student (CMU)
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) The goal of the Diversity & Inclusion Committee is to provide leadership and resources necessary to ensure that all members of the program are valued and respected within CPCB  through collaboration, policies, and procedures.
  • Maria Chikina, PITT
  • Kelly Gentille, PITT
  • Yajushi Khurana, PITT
  • Dora Li, CMU
  • Hannah Schriever, PITT
  • Russell Schwartz, CMU
  • Nicole Stenger, CMU
  • Laura Tung, CMU
  • Mostofa Uddin, CMU
  • Hanxi Xiao, PITT

In addition to these specialized committees, all training faculty belong to, and participate in, the CPCB Program Faculty meetings held twice a year, at the end of the Fall and Spring semesters, and in an annual Program Retreat held off-site shortly after the arrival of each new class. The purpose of the Faculty meetings is the discussion of the programmatic issues brought about by the individual committees or other institutional developments, the evaluation of all students (discussed one by one), and the approval of the student evaluation letters that are to be sent to each student at the end of each semester.